Fast Facts of Malaysia


Entry requirements

A valid passport or an internationally recognized travel document (and visa if applicable) is required for all persons entering Malaysia. The passport or travel document shall be valid for more than 6 months after the date of entry into Malaysia. Furthermore visitors are required to present proof of his/her financial ability to finance his/her stay in Malaysia together with a confirmed return ticket to another destination. A passport is also necessary for travel between Peninsular Malaysia and the East Malaysian states.


All visitors are required to complete an Arrival/Departure Card and a Customs Declaration Form, which are distributed on all inbound flights to Malaysia and near the Immigration counters.

Countries That Do Not Required Visa:

U.S.A. citizens visiting Malaysia for social, business or academic purposes (except for employment).
No visa is required for a stay of less than one month for nationals of all ASEAN countries except Myanmar.
For a stay exceeding one month a visa will be required, except for nationals Brunei and Singapore.

Countries That Require Visa:

Afghanistan (Visa With Reference), Angola, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo Democratic Republic, Congo Republic, Cote D'ivoire, Djibouti, Equat. Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea-Bissau, Hong Kong (C/I or D/I), India, Liberia, Mali, Myanmar (normal passport), Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Serbia & Montenegro, Taiwan, United Nations (Laissez Passer) and Western Sahara.

Commonwealth Countries That Require Visa:

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Ghana, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Countries That Require Visa For a Stay Exceeding 3 Months:

Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria (Vienna), Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kirgystan, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Lienchestien, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherland, Norway, Oman, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Romania, St Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay and Yemen.

Countries That Require Visa For a Stay Exceeding 1 Month:

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Belarus, Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Costa Rica, Equador, El Savador, Estonia, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea Republic, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao SAR, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldova, Mauritania, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Nicaragua, North Korea, North Yemen, Panama, Paraguay, Portugal, Russia, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Slovenia, Sudan, Surinam, Tajikistan, Togo, Ukraine, Upper Volta, Uzbekistan, Vatican City, Vanezuela, Zaire and Zimbabwe.

Countries That Require Visa For a Stay Exceeding 14 Days:

Iran (15 days), Iraq, Libya, Macao (Travel Permit/Portugal CI), Palestine, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Yemen and Syria.

  • Israel - visas are required and permission must be granted from Ministry of Internal Security.
  • Republic of Serbia and Republic of Montenegro - visas are required and permission must be granted from Ministry Of Home Affairs.
  • Nationals of countries other than those stated above (with the exception of Israel) are allowed to enter Malaysia without a visa for a visit not exceeding one month.

*The above information is correct at the time of printing. The Malaysian government reserves the right to change the contents without any prior notice.
For more information, please log on to /


Muslim is the dominant religion followed by Buddhism, Hinduism, Christianity and other others.


The unit of currency is Malaysian Ringgit denoted as RM or MYR.

Banking Hours:

Monday - Friday: 09:30am to 4:30pm.
Saturday/Sunday/ Public Holidays: Closed (some bank branches, notably those located in shopping malls, open on weekends)

Kelantan & Terengganu:

Sunday - Wednesday: 09:30am to 4:30pm
Thursday: 09:30am to 4:00pm
Friday/Saturday/Public Holidays: Closed

Post Office Hours:

Monday - Saturday: 08:30am to 6:00pm
First Saturday of each month, Sundays/Public Holidays: Closed (the General Post Office of some major cities opens on Sundays from 10:00am - 1:00pm)

Kelantan and Terengganu:

Sunday - Thursday, Saturdays: 08:30am to 6:00pm
First Saturday of each month, Fridays/Public Holidays: Closed

Department Stores:

Monday- Sunday: 10:00am to 10:00pm

Getting Around:

LRT is the Light Rail Transport system, which operates in the city center and the suburbs.
ERL connects the new Kuala Lumpur Sentral Station with Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). The journey takes 28 minutes.
Monorail is an inner-city public transport system, which connects the most important business, hotel and shopping districts in the city center.
Metered taxis can be found easily in the cities and at hotels. If the driver insists on a flat payment instead of using the meter, make sure you negotiate and agree on a price before boarding. A surcharge of 50% is applicable after midnight.

Weather & Clothing:

The climate in Malaysia is hot and humid throughout the year. Temperature ranges from an average of 21 - 32 degrees Celsius.
Average annual rainfall varies from 200cm to 250cm.
Light clothing is generally recommended while a jacket is advisable if you are going to cooler areas.
Malaysia is a Muslim country and although we are more liberal, it is advisable for tourists to not wear too revealing outfit out of respect to the locals especially in the more rural areas and religious grounds.


Bahasa Melayu (Malay) is the local language but English is widely
spoken. Information boards and signs are also written in English.

*** Malaysian Drug Law:
Malaysian legislation provides for a mandatory death penalty for convicted drug traffickers.  Individuals arrested in possession of 15 grams (1/2 ounce) of heroin or 200 grams (seven ounces) of marijuana are presumed by law to be trafficking in drugs.

Malaysian Public Holidays 2017

National Public Holidays 2017



New Year's Day

1 January, Sunday

Chinese New Year

28 - 29 January, Saturday - Sunday

Federal Territory Day

1 February, Wednesday


9 February, Thursday

Labour Day

1 May, Monday

Wesak Day

10 May, Wednesday

King's Birthday

3 June, Saturday

* Eid Al-Fitr (Hari Raya Puasa)

25 - 26 June, Sunday - Monday

National Day

31 August, Thursday

Malaysia Day

16 September, Saturday

Awal Muharram

21 September, Thursday


18 October, Wednesday


25 December, Monday

*Subject to change

If the public holiday falls on a Sunday, the next day is automatically a replacement holiday.